Hacker Newsnew | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submit | Fofer's commentslogin

You can very easily turn that feature and pop=up off.


Once you deleted your own local copy, the folder of photos on Dropbox was no longer a "backup." You just moved your one copy elsewhere. You essentially had NO backup. And everyone should know, you should always have at least two backups. (Again, you had zero.) I wouldn't even consider Dropbox (without Packrat) a valid backup destination either, because any changes get synced.

Sorry this happened to you, but better backup practices could have avoided it easily.


Guidelines | FAQ | Lists | API | Security | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: