Hacker Newsnew | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submitlogin

The big question here is data loss, which the article alleges but does not really prove. The author basically says "I don't understand versions, so I don't trust them."

Many folks have pointed out that since Mountain Lion auto-saves all file versions, there actually is not any data loss. Just revert the file.

However, my reading of the Apple support document [1] is that versions are discarded over time. It says:

> OS X Lion manages the version history of a document, keeping hourly versions for a day, daily versions for a month, and weekly versions for all previous months.

This would seem to indicate that if you downloaded a file from your camera, then made changes that were autosaved to the original file, the original version would be discarded after 24 hours had passed--the several "hourly" versions reduced to a single "daily" version.

If that is true, it is really problematic. If version control software is to be trusted, I think it should not discard versions.

[1] http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4753



Guidelines | FAQ | Lists | API | Security | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: