This is actually the point that makes no sense to me - after removing a folder from selective sync, the default (in my mind) should be to leave the folder alone. At the very least the user should be prompted or an option setting should be available to delete or leave the folder. 'Security' and 'disk space' are only two of the many reasons to not sync a folder.